D1 College Lacrosse
  About Us Contact Us Links Submit Site Partner With Us

Delaware Men's Lacrosse
Delaware Women's Lacrosse
Blue Hens Football

University of Delaware women's lacrosse news
Delaware Women's Lacrosse News

Delaware Freshman Nicole Flego Named to womenslacrosse.com Rookie All-American Team
  ANNAPOLIS, MD -- University of Delaware women’s lacrosse freshman midfielder Nicole Flego has been named to the womenslacrosse.com Division I All-American Rookie team announced Thursday.

Flego was among 16 players honored on the All-Rookie team as the website also announced its All-American team and its national player of the year award winners.

A native of Doylestown, PA (Central Bucks East High School), Flego enjoyed an outstanding freshman campaign for the Blue Hens in 2007, leading Delaware to a top 20 national ranking, a record of 11-6, and a berth in the Colonial Athletic Association semifinals.

She earned Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association All-Mid-Atlantic Region second team honors as well as being named first team All-CAA and the CAA Rookie of the Year. She became only the second UD player to earn all-region honors as a freshman and was the first to earn Rookie of the Year and first team all-conference honors in the same season.

Flego finished the season as the team’s leading point scorer and posted a team-high 22 assists. She scored 36 points overall to rank fourth in the CAA and her 58 points placed her sixth in the CAA. She also ranked second on the team with 86 shots while also collecting eight groundballs, six draw controls, and three caused turnovers. She scored at least one goal in all 17 games and had a career-high five vs. James Madison during the regular season.

Joining Flego on the Rookie All-American team were Jessica Davis and Nina Frankoski of Rutgers, Ali DeLuca of Penn, Christina Dove of Syracuse, Kaitlin Duff and Brittany Kalkstein of Virginia, Ali Flury of Denver, Suzy Herlihy of Saint Joseph’s, Ashley King of Massachusetts, Kiki Manners and Molly McCarthy of Brown, Caitlyn McFadden of Maryland, Hailey Quillinan of Syracuse, Sam Schrum of Johns Hopkins, and Kristen Taylor of North Carolina.

Mary Key of Johns Hopkins was named Attacker of the Year, Northwestern’s Kristen Kjellman, Christy Finch, and Morgan Lathrop were named Midfielder of the Year, Defender of the Year, and Goalkeeper of the Year respectively, Virginia’s Brittany Kalkstein was named Rookie of the Year, and Penn’s Karen Jann and coach Karin Brower were named Unsung Player of the Year and Coach of the Year respectively.

Northwestern (21-1) captured its third straight NCAA title this past spring with a 15-13 win over Virginia in the national championship game in Philadelphia.

Delaware Fan Store on Amazon

The Ultimate Store for the Ultimate Fan!

Get Great Tickets on StubHub.com!

College Gear Superstore
Home | Contact | About Us | Links | Submit Site | Partner With Us

This website is an unofficial and independently operated source of information not affiliated with any school, team, or league.
Copyright © Sports Marketing Administrators, 2007. All Rights Reserved.